talking to myself

Resolutions at 21

A few months ago, I turned twenty-one. (s/o to my ’95 babies).

When I was younger, I’ve always wanted to be twenty-one. To be completely legal in all realms of the world, exploring what I liked and disliked, and to have zero limits.

This wasn’t the case at all – I’ve been more stressed than ever. I don’t know what I want to do after graduation. I don’t have enough money to move out, buy a car and travel to every continent this planet has to offer. I’m worried I won’t find a full-time job and when I do, I fear that I won’t enjoy it.

I’ve always wanted to be twenty-one. I keep thinking how I am twenty-one in this very moment. I’ve looked forward to this age my entire life, but now I’m here. And I’m scared. I’m scared because it’s going to go away, and I’m simply sitting here writing my thoughts as the “year of my life” passes by.

A lot is going to change in 2017. More than it ever has in the span of my youth, and I want to be a better person for myself, mentally and physically.

Every December I write my new year’s resolutions, keeping the list a secret because I read that if you tell others your goals, you are less likely to commit to them.

For 2017, I want to share my goals with you.

I gained some inspiration to write this post after talking to my gal Michelle. We thought that the only way for us to feel inspired, is to inspire others. With a little bit of orange juice and smiles, I created a list of ten things I would like to accomplish in 2017 (and maintain for the rest of my life).

HEREEEEEE WE GOO!

  1. Carry a water bottle with you everywhere
    • It’s pretty self-explanatory. I always have a water bottle with me. Especially on campus, there are filtered water stations everywhere!!! Imagine all the plastic and pimples you could be reducing. Trust me, you’ll thank yourself when your skin is plump and your pee is clear.
  2. Posture
    • I commute 1.5 hours to campus and 1.5 hours home. In that time, I sit on the bus. I either slouch while playing on my phone, or hunch my back forward. Most of the time I don’t realize it, but now I’m more aware of my actions and try to sit/stand up straight for a healthier back. Good posture also means positive body language. Others will look at you and think “damn, this person is confident!!!”.
  3. Calm your approval addiction
    • I’ll admit that I love the approval of others. Nothing makes me happier than knowing people like me. This can also be debilitating. I have to stop living my life to impress others, because in the long run that’s not going to make myself happy. I want to feel comfortable doing what I want, regardless of what other people think (unless you’re directing negativity to a specific group of people). You will feel liberated, and know who your true friends are because they will love you for you.
  4. Be your own source of happiness
    • Whenever I feel stressed and anxious, I tend to talk down about myself. It results in negative energy spreading to the people closest to me – especially my boyfriend. I realize I can’t rely on him to make me happy. I mean, he can make me smile when I need it the most and be my #1 cheerleader, but on my worst days he always reminds me that only I can make myself happy. Once you are happy with yourself, everyone else you encounter is just a bonus.
  5. Consistency
    • I’m always comparing myself to successful people and wonder why I can’t be as smart as them. Then I remember back to two nights ago when I stayed in bed all day watching Netflix. If I want to do great things, I need to be consistent. Write a list of things I would like to accomplish, set a schedule, and commit. Repeat. There’s nothing like completing a checklist only to realize you’re finally progressing. I’m not saying Netflix is the devil himself – everyone deserves a break sometimes (just not ALL the time).
  6. Listen more
    • I’ve been trying to talk less about myself and listen more to my friends. You learn so much from others when they share their experiences. Sometimes your friends need someone to vent to, and why would they want to open up to someone who never shuts up? If you’re there to lend an ear, your friends will be there to do the same when you need it the most. So take the time to listen wholeheartedly.
  7. Stretch your body
    • There’s nothing like a good old morning stretch. I’m the most inflexible person ever. I blame my height for not being able to touch my toes, when in reality I just have to stretch more. It gets the blood gushin’ and the endorphins rushin’. STRETCH MORE, Y’ALL.
  8. Travel 
    • I try my best to travel whenever I can. This year, I was fortunate enough to save up to study abroad in Korea, go to Lollapalooza in Chicago, and take a trip to NYC with my besties. But, if you don’t have the funds to explore the world, take the time to indulge in your local culture. Personally, there’s so much to see in the city of Toronto. Each borough has its own flair, and you can spend endless days exploring the different parts that downtown has to offer. Grab a friend and a couple of dollars for transit and coffee (or tea – whatever ur into!)
  9. Moisturize
    • You can tell who takes care of themselves by how soft their hands are. Slab some cocoa butter on them, BUT DON’T STOP THERE! Right now it’s winter and you can’t fail to neglect the rest of your body. Keep your legs, arms, belly, feet, neck, face, bum & thighs glowing. Do your skin a favour and keep it hydrated. SAY NO TO THIRST!!! GLOW, HO.
  10. Crave Change
    • It’s easy to fall into a routine. I like feeling comfortable, but I constantly crave change as well. There’s nothing like meeting new people, working new jobs, and seeing new places. All you have to do is get up and find something to do. You can’t say you’re bored when you’re privileged with access to the internet. Want to learn something? GOOGLE IT! Find the balance between comfort and flux. Change is what keeps me on my toes, and this way it makes me feel excited to wake up in the morning knowing that yesterday can’t be repeated.

I hope 2016 hasn’t been too rough on you, and that I can spark a little light into your life regardless of how old you are and what you want to achieve.

❤ Bren

2 thoughts on “Resolutions at 21

Leave a Reply

